Kent Frandsen-Ulen Invitational


Toby Meyer, Reporter

The boys golf team hosted their annual invitational, the Kent Frandsen-Ulen Invitational on Saturday May 1 at historic Ulen Country Club.


The invitational has been named after Kent Frandsen for many years now. Frandsen graduated from Lebanon High School and attended Indiana University where he played on the men’s golf team and was a team captain. His name also sits in the Indiana Golf Hall of Fame. He is a three time Indiana State Amateur champion; winning the championship in 1974, 1979 and 1984. Frandsen is among the greatest Indiana golfers of all time.

The tournament field is arguably the strongest fielded regular season tournament in Indiana that includes teams like (2) Zionsville, (2) Carmel, (6) Westfield, (12) Hamilton Southeastern, (15) Guerin Catholic, Brebeuf Jesuit, Avon, (8) Brownsburg and Roncalli.


Although no player was able to shoot or break par, the stacked field produced some great golf on a windy day at Ulen. Guerin Catholic’s Andrew White claimed victory in a two hole playoff over Carmel’s Sam Booth. Both players shot 71 (+1). Zionsville took home the team title with a 305 over Westfield in a tie breaker. While the Eagles and Andrew White may have taken home the hardware, the course was the real winner. Ulen’s luscious rough, tight fairways and firm, fast greens yielded very few birdies.


“Overall the tournament was fun, Ulen is a really nice course and I played pretty solid,” sophomore Alex Emenhiser said.


The Tigers finished 11th with a score of 359. Junior Toby Meyer led the way with a 79 (+9) and snuck inside the top ten. Sophomore Alex Emenhiser added an 84 (+14).


“Overall I thought it was a fun day with a lot of great teams and some really talented players. As a team I feel like we did pretty well considering the windy conditions,” sophomore John Gascho said.


Lebanon’s results and all tournament results can be found below.


Team Totals:                                                                          Lebanon Results:

  1. Zionsville (305)                                                           Toby Meyer (79)
  2. Westfield (305)                                                           Alex Emenhiser (84)
  3. Hamilton Southeastern (307)                                  John Gascho (90)
  4. Guerin Catholic (307)                                                Caleb Girdley (112)
  5. Carmel (321)                                                                Reed Bean (106)
  6. Brebeuf Jesuit(327)                                                   `Noah Vanaman (124)
  7. Avon (331)
  8. Roncalli (340)
  9. Brownsburg (348)
  10. North Central (350)
  11. Lebanon (359)
  12. Terre Haute North (368)
  13. Heritage Christian (372)
  14. McCutcheon (405)
  15. Hagerstown (420)
  16. Frankfort (424)
  17. University (449)