What is your full name? McKenna Kristine Haskins

What are your future plans? What are you majoring in, if you are planning on attending a post-secondary school? I will be attending Purdue University and majoring in Health Science at the College of Human and Health Science so that I can one day become a physician.

What has made this year your best year? This year has been my best year because I have grown closer to my friends, striving more in my education, and participating more within the school so that I can enjoy my high school experience and my senior year to the fullest.

If you could give any advice to the underclassmen, what would you say? Try not to procrastinate, (even though everyone does it) because it will help you do better in classes and have less stress throughout high school.  Also, make the most of your four years in high school because they really do fly by and the more involved you are, the more you will enjoy your high school experience.

Who has been your biggest influence at the school and why? (teacher, administrator, staff member) Señorita Decker has been my biggest influence at the high school because not only has she been an amazing Spanish teacher and has made Spanish 5 a fun class, while still teaching us material, but she has also been a great mentor throughout my four years in high school while I was in Spell Bowl.  She has really helped me to step out of my shell and has helped me to challenge myself in my education because Spanish is a pretty difficult class.  She is always there to help any of their students and wants her students to thrive.

What class has been the most beneficial for you? Why? AP Calculus has been the most beneficial for me.  It has given me an idea of what colleges classes might be like.  Mr. Passwater also pushes his students to be the best we can be by challenging us every day and holding us accountable to come in every day and get help.  He has helped me to understand my potential in my education and has pushed me to be better academically.

What is something interesting about you that most people wouldn’t know about you? The most interesting things about me are that I am a shift leader at Dairy Queen, I got my gallbladder removed when I was 17 (which is very uncommon to get removed at a young age), and I have a prosthetic ear bone.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? In ten years, I see myself graduated from Purdue, graduated from medical school, and in my residency preparing to be a pediatric Otolaryngologist.